Review: The Lady

The Lady
The Lady by Anne McCaffrey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*Not exactly a review*

I read this back when I was a teenager.

One of my aunts gave it to me for Christmas one year. I was so disappointed. Sure, I loved horses and there was a horse on the cover… but this book was the size of a refrigerator. Large print. Like I was an old woman. I was twelve.

Needless to say, this book sat on my shelves for years. Only growing bigger.

One summer, when I was probably 15, I had nothing better to do.

I picked up this fat-ass book and started reading.

And as I read, I realized it wasn’t completely PG. This fact sent me into a fit of resounding gales of laughter. Because if my stodgy old Auntie knew what kind of book she’d given me, she’d have fainted of shame. Or whatever stodgy, prudish women faint over.

So I read this mountain of a book.

Then I loaned it to my best friend so that she could giggle over the good parts, too!

Looking back, now, I suppose the book wasn’t all that racy…

Auntie S, queen of thoughtless yard sale gifts, really failed with this one. Because the joke’s on her!

Honestly. Who gives a twelve-year-old this kind of book?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

